CDMS Certification Exam


The fee to sit for the exam is:

  • $385 if paying by credit card  


The CDMS certification exam is offered twice a year within designated windows. Online applications are due in advance by the dates indicated. Currently, candidates can choose from more than 300 test administration centers in the United States. 

Upcoming Exam Windows and Deadlines

Exam Cycle

September 2016

March 2017

Application window opens

May 1

 November 1

Application window closes

July 29

January 31

Approval/Denial Notification

August 31

February 29

Exam administration

September 9-17


The certification exam remains relevant and valid with current practices in the field through an in-depth Role & Function Study. This study is conducted every 5 years and defines the roles, function, knowledge, and skills of disability managers. The scope of practice as derived from the last study, conducted in 2014, includes the following work domains.

  1. Domain for Disability and Work Interruption Case Management
  2. Domain for Workplace Intervention for Disability Prevention
  3. Domain for Program Development, Management, and Evaluation
  4. Domain for Employment Leaves and Benefits Administration

You can explore more detailed information on these areas of practice by visiting the practice domains page.

Apply Online

Download the CDMS Guide for Candidate Certification and apply online for the exam through the CDMS secure website. All applications must be submitted with payment by the deadlines above.